About

School History

We are very proud of our school history.  Originally built in 1859 at a cost of £800, there were 166 children on the roll when the school opened.

Ninety years later in 1949, it became an all-age school, with an age range of 4-15.  Later in 1958 when the Peele School in Long Sutton was opened, the senior pupils transferred there and the school became a Primary School.             

In 1971, the school was rebuilt to accommodate children from Sutton St. James, Holbeach St. John and Sutton St. Edmund when the last two villages had their own schools closed.

 The school today

The school has excellent facilities including a large hall fitted with climbing apparatus which when not being used for morning assemblies provides an excellent indoor fitness area for the children.  We also have an outdoor playing field and a range of outdoor play equipment, referred to by the children as the "trim trail"

Technology is a very important part of life these days and we believe that you can never be too young to embrace it.  In addition to a pool of laptops and Android tablets for pupil use, each of our classrooms is fitted with a SmartBoard and projector to enhance the learning experience. 

Our house system is very strong. Children work every day for house points. House points are totalled and announced each week in Celebration Assembly. The House Cup is awarded at the end of each half term.

The four houses are named after the local rivers and are Nene, Ouse, Welland and Witham.

 

Nene ShieldNene house has the colour green

Ouse ShieldOuse house has the colour yellow

Welland ShieldWelland house has the colour red

Witham ShieldWitham house has the colour blue

Picture of School
Classroom Scene
Sports Day
Outdoors Play 

  Contact Us Button